I’d like to ask all of you to STOP “FAKING IT ‘TIL YOU MAKE IT.” STOP FAKING anything at all really. It doesn’t do you or anyone around you to act less than authentic. You stress yourself out by living a lie and you disappoint everyone who depends on you.

Pay close attention to the similarities in what’s happened in the last few months with Lance Armstrong, Kevin Clash (the voice of Elmo), Oscar “the Blade Runner” Pistorius, and now even the Catholic Pope. We’ve put them on high pedestals, and they’re falling off.

Don’t do that to yourself. You want to be an expert on something? Adopt a “beginners mind.” Have humility. People are very willing to teach you things if you’re willing to admit you simply *don’t know.*

Before you think, “Is she talking about me?” ask yourself, “How much have I lied to people who depend on me lately?” If the answer is not at all, I’m obviously not talking about you. “Fake it ’til you make it” is a term that gets thrown around so casually that people who are making an earnest effort and being honest with themselves and others about their skill levels, while still achieving a modicum of success, think this advice applies to them. That’s just your humility talking. You’re not faking it. You’re just plain making it. I’m talking about all-out charlatans here. See examples above.

I have so many positive examples all around me of people who are open minded about learning anything they need to know, while I watch all these rich and famous fools on the news crumble. I don’t know about you guys, but this lesson is practically blaring at me lately. We need to stop using that term “Fake it ’til you make it,” because it’s basically a curse on our society at this point.

My friend Xtina adds: “I always feel like people who are insincere are trying to be controlling. I hate that!”

**************************
UPDATE: After I wrote this, a very close friend of mine, whose business is on the threshold of wild success, posted something about how she’s feeling very novice in her experience and is just taking it one step at a time. Not surprisingly, a friend of hers commented “Fake it ’til you make it!” The most endearing thing about her work and her success is the inspiring balance of humility and confidence she’s demonstrated from the beginning. So frustrating!

Die ugly phrase, die in a fire.

